Taylor and Maclaurin Series

Theorem If f has a power series representation at a, that is, if

$$f(x) = \sum n = 0^{\infty} c_n (x - a)^n$$
 for $|x - a| < R$,

then its coefficients are given by the formula

$$c_n = \frac{f^{(n)}(a)}{n!};$$

ie, if f(x) has a power series expansion at a, then

$$f(x) = f(a) + \frac{f'(a)}{1!}(x-a) + \frac{f''(a)}{2!}(x-a)^2 + \dots = \sum_{n=0}^{\infty} \frac{f^{(n)}(a)}{n!}(x-a)^n.$$

This is called the Taylor series of the function f at a.

When a = 0, we have

$$f(x) = \sum_{n=0}^{\infty} \frac{f^{(n)}(0)}{n!} x^n = f(0) + \frac{f'(0)}{1!} x + \frac{f''(0)}{2!} x^2 + \cdots$$

which is a special case of the Taylor series, called the Maclaurin series.